Spring has sprung

My backyard

My backyard

The combination of daily evening rains and humidity aren’t my favorite but the outcome is amazing agriculture! My garden is full of gorgeous roses of all colors, cherries, strawberries and plums. Later in summer there will be apples, pears, apricots, grapes, peaches, walnuts, pomegranates, persimmons, hazelnuts and figs.  Even though the rain can be depressing the sky clears up and there are glorious things in my garden that I can eat, smell and look at! My host dad is always telling me, “bağ gəzmək,” (walk in the garden), which is usually a command! He is so proud of his garden and there is a lot to be proud of, it’s beautiful! I am loving the yard and am looking forward to helping my family harvest the fruit to make mürəbbə (jam) and compote (juice). IMG_1170

Leave a comment